Quality Expert Certification Icon Copy
Quality Expert Certification


About the scheme

The scheme involves the assessment and international certification of cotton quality experts to implement an internationally recognised standard. This will establish a global panel of cotton quality experts which will:

  • Provide an improved professional service to the cotton industry
  • Enhance the profile and recognition of certified individuals
  • Provide a pool of quality experts to assist in the settlements of quality disputes
  • Act as a forum to raise the standard and consistency of classing and testing

The scheme is available to any individual who has fulfilled the certification criteria and is not on or related to a firm which is on the CICCA List of Unfulfilled Awards.

 

Why should you become certified?

  • WORLDWIDE RECOGNITION of your credibility and competence 
  • PROVIDE A RESOURCE for quality arbitrators
  • ADVICE and information from other experts in the industry 
  • SET A HIGH STANDARD for you to achieve and maintain 
  • PROMOTION on our website 
  • A MARKETING ADVANTAGE with full use of the 'ICA Bremen Certified Quality Expert' logo


Is this needed when we can use ICA Bremen and its certified laboratories for HVI testing?

While ICA Bremen and our certified laboratories provide a high quality HVI testing service, often it is more than just testing that is required. After samples have been tested using HVI, the results may need to be analysed and interpreted so that the client knows what action to take. This is where a Quality Expert can help – they have the experience and knowledge to help clients make decisions from their results.

In addition, Quality Expert certification covers more than just HVI testing. The criteria specify that to become a Quality Expert, extensive knowledge and experience of classing cotton are also required. This means that these experts have a wide knowledge of all cotton quality issues, not just those restricted to HVI testing.

 

What is the process?

  • Self-application with two referees
  • Documentation verification
  • Assessment by the Certification Assessment Panel and ICA Bremen Board
  • If approved, a certificate will be issued
  • If the individual is not approved, they can participate in the ICA Bremen training course to help their expertise reach the required level for re-assessment

 

What is the criteria?

View the criteria in our certification process

Individuals who have attended the ICA Bremen Cotton Classing & Testing Training programme will have the required level of knowledge in many areas.

 

What is the cost?

US $100 per calender year. 

 

How to apply

Simply complete our online application form - a member of the team will then be in contact.

 

Who is certified? 

 Mr Patrick McDonnell  QEM/QEI   Australia  patmac66@hotmail.com
 Mr Darren Cover QEM/QEI   Australia  darren@proclass.com.au
 Mr Paul Weston QEM Switzerland  paul.weston@ldc.com
 Mr Terry Mthethwa QEM Tanzania  terry.mthethwa@olamagri.com
 Mr Josep Barder QEM Greece  jbarderit@gmail.com
 Mr Dimitris Tsenos QEM Greece  dimitris@nicot.gr
 Mr Alfredo Cucala QEM Brazil  cucala72@gmail.com
 Mr Loukas Despotis QEI Greece  despotis@markoubros.com
 Mr Karsten Froese QEM/QEI   Germany   karsten@ica-bremen.org
 Mr Derek Tanner QEM/QEI   UK  dtanner@datcotton.co.uk
 Mr Axel Drieling QEI Germany   axel@ica-bremen.org
 Mr Robert Jiang QEM/QEI   UK  robert@ica-ltd.org
 Mr Sumei Lian QEM/QEI   China   hebciqmian@126.com
 Mr Anselme Jean Kabore  QEI Burkina Faso   kabore.anselme@sofitex.bf
 Mr Viral Shah QEM/QEI   India ind-lab@wiscontrol.com
 Mr Pankaj Mepani QEM India pankaj.mepani@gmail.com 
 Mr Li Peng  QEM/QEI   China  15200022921@163.com
 Silue Nangounon Michel QEM Ivory Coast  ivc-cotton@wiscontrol.com
 Senthilkumar Mounasamy  QEM/QEI    India   senthil@wiscontrol.com

The certification of any quality expert by ICA Bremen only demonstrates that the certified individual has fulfilled the Certification Criteria as required. The certification by no means implies that ICA Bremen endorse the work conducted by the certified individual.